The Export/Import (WLAN) option starts a local web server in iCab Mobile, which offers a simple website that can be accessed with any web browser in the same WLAN network. Data can then also be retrieved or uploaded via this website. This option is therefore suitable for the local exchange of data with non-Apple devices and computers. All you need is any web browser on the other system. The address of the web server is displayed after it is started, as a URL and also as a QR code, so you do not necessarily have to enter the address manually. The server runs as long as the settings remain open or the server is stopped manually. If the settings are closed, the web server stops automatically.
Share with apps makes it possible to transfer the various data from iCab Mobile to other apps. The normal sharing window is used so that only the apps that also accept the respective files are available for selection. A direct export to other iOS devices or Mac is also possible via AirDrop.
When sharing via e-mail and SMS, a standard text can be specified. Placeholders can be used in this text, which are then replaced by the page title and address of the website to be shared. You can also send a preview image of the page if you wish.
When sharing a web page via the Share window, it is also possible to share different data or share it in different formats. You can share the address (URL) and page title and, if necessary, the current text selection on the website. Different apps evaluate different types of data, so these can be configured. Addresses (URLs) can be shared, for example, as a text object (most apps understand this, but do not necessarily immediately recognize that it is a web address), but also as an explicit web address (URL). Address and page title can be shared as separate objects, but also as a multi-line text object.
To do this, iCloud synchronization must be activated in all instances of iCab Mobile and iCab on all devices between which you want to synchronize the data, and you must also specify the data to be synchronized on all devices.
During synchronization, the data is stored on the iCloud server and this database is then transferred to all participating devices. The older data is always overwritten by the newer data so that the latest versions are always distributed to the devices.
However, there may be situations where you have already accumulated data on several devices that you do not want to lose. In this case, activating iCloud synchronization could lead to data loss, as only the new data survives. Therefore, when activating synchronization for the first time, you can explicitly specify for each data type whether and which data will definitely be kept and which can be replaced.
| Components | Description |
|---|---|
| Off | Synchronization for the data is deactivated |
| On | Synchronization for the data is activated. Changes to the data on other devices will replace the data on this device. Changes on this device will replace the data on the other devices. |
| Load from iCloud, then synchronize | If you select this option, the data is always loaded from the iCloud first and replaces the existing data on the device. Then iCab Mobile switches to normal synchronization (“On” option). This option is suitable if the data already in the iCloud is to be transferred, even if the local data may be newer. |
| Save to iCloud, then synchronize | If you select this option, the local data is always saved in the iCloud first and is then also transferred to all other devices. Then iCab Mobile switches to normal synchronization (“On” option). This option is suitable if you want to use the local files on all other devices, even if there may already be newer/other data there. |
| Merge data, then synchronize | This option loads the data in the iCloud, merges it with the local data and then writes the result back to the iCloud. This option is suitable if you have several devices with different data sets and want to keep all the data. Here, too, iCab Mobile switches back to normal synchronization (“On” option). |
The All iCloud files option lists all data currently stored by iCab Mobile in the iCloud, grouped by user profile and shared tabs. This also allows files to be deleted manually if the corresponding user profile or devices no longer exist, or if there are other problems with the iCloud.