Privacy
These settings affect everything that has to do with your privacy.
Private Mode
As soon as the Private mode is activated, iCab Mobile no longer saves any private data (cookies, history, tabs, etc.) permanently.
After leaving the app, the private data is automatically deleted after a (configurable) period of time, as well as when activating or exiting private mode.
Which data is automatically deleted in private mode can be configured. These options are only visible as long as private mode is activated.
By default, iCab Mobile retains the private data for a few minutes after leaving the app so that you can switch to other apps for a short duration without losing data (e.g. to answer a call). This duration can be adjusted to suit your own needs.
The private data is only actually deleted if you leave the app for longer than the set time.
Which data is deleted in private mode can be defined individually.
Delete private data manually
All private data that accumulates over time can be deleted here manually at any time.
Certificates
Many websites are protected by certificates. The certificates ensure that the websites are what they claim to be. However, sometimes site maintaners forget to renew certificates so that they expire, or certain pages are secured by self-created certificates (and therefore unknown to the browser). Access to these sites would then be aborted with an error message. Via Untrusted certificates, you can specify individually for each of these certificates whether the respective page should still be loaded or whether it should be blocked. You can also define a standard action for all cases that have not been individually regulated.
Some websites (especially non-public sites, e.g. in the corporate environment) also require a certificate to be installed directly in the browser to enable access to the respective website. This can be done in the certificate management.
Camera, microphone, motion sensors
Normally, iCab Mobile asks the user for permission each time a website wants to use the camera, microphone or motion sensors. If you use such a website frequently (e.g. a video conferencing site) and do not want to have to grant permission every time, you can also permanently grant permission to this website, or deny permission to certain sites in general.
Preview for App switcher
If you open the App switcher to switch between the running apps, you will see a preview of the apps. This app preview may also show private data. Therefore, you can change this view in iCab so that the preview is displayed blurred, completely white or black to ensure privacy. By default, the preview is displayed normally if the app is in normal mode and blurred if it is in private mode. However, this can be changed.